Since you’ve been gone

I wake up alone in the dark now, something I thought would never happen again. I feel the dull ache of not having a partner, but not always, just sometimes. Sometimes, when I think of sharing something funny that happened, or when I read a book that I cannot put down, then I look to my left and . . . you are not there.

Since you were gone I have met someone, and lost someone, and left someone, and . . . maybe met a potential someone. I have found another job, I have moved, I have left old friends and made new ones. I have cried and laughed and  made love and wreak havoc. I have found and lost.

You are gone, but you took so much space in my heart that I forgot me.

Now, there is room.

Leave a Reply

