Three houses

There are three houses in a clearance in a forest. A forest that looks like the one they show on movies, movies that take place in the American South. I’m not sure if the American South actually looks like that. The air is thick, buzzing with the sounds of insects and the three houses are . . . in disrepair. There are one room houses, with wooden walls and wooden floors. They seem out of place, out of time, an anachronism.

I am going to a party, I have a coral dress, long, ethereal even, so unlike me. I never wear dresses. I never wear coral. I take out my phone before I leave, but  know he won’t come. I know this but I still text him. Then I go to the party. It’ll be only me.

Leave a Reply

