Little secrets

They come out when you least expect it, they sneak up on me, they surprise me, they startle me, they bring back long lost memories. Well, maybe not so long and then maybe not lost but just misplaced.
I open a drawer and I find a grocery list from the HEB in Georgetown, or a note he wrote, or photos from our trip to The Badlands . . . Little things that were little then, and not they are just sad and hurtful.
I hate them, and I wish to forget al those little secrets. Those miserable little secrets that bit me, eat my thoughts, destroy my joy and bring me back to the miserable time when I was . . . A time that was before.

Leave a Reply

